All Locations

All Locations

Hancock Center offers summer welding

April 17, 2017 - 10:17am -- jbraswell

  WAVELAND - Pearl River Community College will offer welding during the summer at the Hancock Center in Waveland.
  The class will meet from 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday, beginning May 23 and ending July 27. Classes meet in the Hancock Center welding shop at 454 Highway 90, Waveland.
  Cost for the course is $250 with $50 due when the application is turned in and the remainder by the first day of class.

Five inducted into Lifetime Achievement Hall of Fame

April 17, 2017 - 9:30am -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Pearl River Community College honored five outstanding alumni Thursday, April 13, with induction into the PRCC Lifetime Achievement Hall of Fame.
  They are Lamar County educator Carolyn Lott Adams, retired PRCC instructor Dr. James “Jimmy” Barnes of Poplarville, Grenada physician Dr. Thomas Holden, business executive Bill James of Leesburg, Fla., and Slap Ya Mama founder and attorney Tony Walker of Ville Platte, La.

Symphonic Band to perform April 18

April 13, 2017 - 1:19pm -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - The Symphonic Band at Pearl River Community College will present its spring concert at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 18, at the Brownstone Center for the Arts.
  The program will include John Philip Sousa’s Washington Post March, Take My Hand, Espana Cani and Bugler’s Holiday.
  Take My Hand was commissioned by PRCC and composed by Luigi Zaninelli as a tribute to the late Medgar Evers.
  Dr. Kyle Hill is director of bands, assisted by Mike Bass and Reuben McDowell.
  Admission to the concert is $5.

Halcomb wins Skills USA scholarship

April 13, 2017 - 8:41am -- jbraswell

Wayne Halcomb of Poplarville, a student at Pearl River Community College, has received a $1,000 Skills USA scholarship through the Southeastern Construction Owners and Associates Roundtable in partnership with Build Your Future. Halcomb is a student in the MI-BEST program which allows him to study masonry at PRCC while completing his high school equivalency degree. He placed first in state Skills USA competition in masonry.

Mr. and Miss PRCC, class favorites elected

April 10, 2017 - 3:40pm -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Future engineers have been chosen as Mr. and Miss PRCC at Pearl River Community College.
  Parker Dungan of Columbia and Belle Failla of Picayune were elected by the student body. Both plan on becoming engineers.
  Class favorites for the Poplarville campus are sophomores Jenna Lee and Austin Watson, both of Picayune, and freshmen Cabrein Bell of Pearlington and Dalton Spiers of Poplarville.

Choral concert is April 11

April 7, 2017 - 11:48am -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - The Pearl River Community College choral department will present its spring concert at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 11, at the Brownstone Center for the Arts.
  The concert will include a mixture of genres and styles performed by the Wildcat Men’s Choir and Belle Cantante Women’s Choir. Both are directed by LaDona Tyson.
  Admission is $5 for the public and free for PRCC students with ID.

Wildcat Way 2 Adventure camps expanding

April 5, 2017 - 1:27pm -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Pearl River Community College will expand its summer adventure camps for elementary and middle school children through a grant from the Lower Pearl River Valley Foundation.
  The foundation approved $8,750 to add camps for students through the eighth grade and offer additional topics. The Wildcat Way 2 Adventure camps started in the summer of 2017.

Color Guard brings home Gold

April 3, 2017 - 5:06pm -- jbraswell

The Pearl River Community College color guard won the Gold Medal for its division in the University Regional A category of the Mississippi Indoor Association competition April 1 in Jackson. Guard members are, front row from left, Heather Shows of Kiln, Raven White of d’Iberville, Garyn Miller of Columbia; second row, Morgan Runyan and Courtney Sones, both of Carriere; Brantley Welsh of Petal and Elle McDaniel of Sandy Hook. The squad won the Gold Medal in only its second year of competition. Directors are Kelcey Whitfield Becnel and Zach Hassell.


Subscribe to RSS - All Locations