Pearl River Community College

All Locations

Lions All-State Band rehearses at PRCC

  POPLARVILLE - The Mississippi Lions All-State Band left Pearl River Community College on Thursday, June 29, headed to Chicago for international competition.
  The band prepared for 10 days at PRCC to defend its title as champions of the International Lions Parade, which rolls through downtown Chicago on Saturday, July 1.
  “It’s been an incredible experience to be around the talented people here,” said sophomore trumpet player Andrew Lott of Oak Grove High School. “It makes us want to do better, to take it up another level.”

Lewis's service to PRCC celebrated

  POPLARVILLE - Hundreds of friends traveled to Poplarville Wednesday, June 28, to honor Dr. William Lewis on his retirement as president of Pearl River Community College.
  Lewis officially steps down on June 30 after 17 years as president of Mississippi’s oldest state-supported, two-year college.
  “My season is over,” Lewis said. “It’s time for a new college president to be in place.”

PRCC athletes earn Academic All-State honors

PRCC AD Jeff LongPOPLARVILLE – The 2016-17 school year was another banner year for student-athletes at Pearl River Community College, as 52 Wildcats were selected as Academic All-State by the MACJC.

Seal, Ruckel will lead PRCC Honors Institute

POPLARVILLE – Dr. Jennifer Seal and Dr. Terri Smith Ruckel have been named new deans of Pearl River Community College’s Honors Institute.

Dr. Seal will serve the Honors Institute on the Poplarville campus and Dr. Ruckel will serve the Honors Institute at the Forrest County Center in Hattiesburg. They will work collaboratively across campuses to plan joint opportunities for Honors students.

Lions Band coming to PRCC

  POPLARVILLE - The Mississippi Lions All-State Band arrives in Poplarville on Tuesday, June 20, for 10 days of intense rehearsal.
  The band will practice at Pearl River Community College before competing at the Lions International Convention in Chicago.
  About 150 high school musicians, selected by audition, make up the band.
  “This will be the first time Pearl River has hosted the Lions Band in about 30 years,” said Dr Kyle Hill, PRCC director of bands. “The Lions Band is composed of the top band students in the state of Mississippi in grades 9 through 12.”

PRCC board adopts $37.2 million budget

     POPLARVILLE - The Pearl River Community College Board of Trustees approved a budget of $37.2 million for the 2017-18 academic year during the regular June meeting on the Poplarville campus Tuesday.
     The budget includes both restricted and unrestricted funds. The new budget is an increase from last year’s budget of $36,767,231.

OTA students receive pins

President's List named for spring

  POPLARVILLE - Pearl River Community College has released the President’s List for spring 2017.
  Students must maintain a 4.0 grade point average to be named to the list.
  They are listed by hometowns:       
  Bassfield - Samuel Carr.
  Bay Saint Louis - Christopher L. Bruno, Savannah Corbitt, Jerrod Rigby, Brice Alexander Thomas, Jordan Hunter Thomas.
  Biloxi - Blake Andrew McGrew, Reagan Lane Norwood, Amber Dreanna Polite.
  Brandon - Matthew C. Jones.
  Brooklyn - Danielle N. Baker, Kevin A. Grice, Amy E. Nelson, Virginia Vidalia Lee Reid.

Dean's List for spring named

  POPLARVILLE - Approximately 500 students at Pearl River Community College have been named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2017 semester.
  Students must maintain a grade point average of 3.4 or higher to be named to the list.
  They are listed by hometowns:
  Aberdeen - Berkley Warnick.
  Bassfield - Austin M. McMurry, Joshua L. Williams.
  Bay Saint Louis - Kevin R. Bounds, Courtney LeighAnn Cassell, Korey M. Cuevas, Terrel A. Ladner, Rachael R. Moran, Gavin W. Smith, Havalynn L. Smith.           
  Bay Springs - Madison Nichole Scoggin.

Diplomas, certificates awarded to about 950

  POPLARVILLE - Pearl River Community College awarded Certificates of Proficiency, Associates in Arts degrees and Associates in Applied Science degrees to approximately 950 graduates on May 12.
  The annual commencement ceremony was for students who completed their programs during the summer and fall 2016 semesters and spring 2017.
  Graduates are listed by hometowns:
  Aberdeen - BerkleyWarnick.
  Bassfield - Rebekah Broom, Samuel Carr, Chase Collier, Courtney Echols, Kendra Fairley,
Jonathan Sims, Joshua Williams, Tatiyana Wilson.


Subscribe to RSS - All Locations